Global Festival of Journalism

Global Festival
of Journalism

  • +91-120-2515254/55/56
  • +91-120-2515246

56th National Film Award Brought AAFT To Lime Light

“It’s a matter of great pride that our alumni Haobam Paban Kumar has won a national Film Award for the best Non Feature film and brought lime light to Asian Academy of Film And Television” said Sandeep Marwah Director of AAFT at Vigyan Bhawan where President of India Smt. Pratibha Patil presented Awards to Indian film Industry for the year 2008 during 56th Ceremony.

In the non-feature film category, Director Haobam Paban Kumar, student of 14th batch of Asian Academy of Film And Television, Noida received the award for the best non-feature film named “AFSPA 1958”. The award is Swarna Kamal and a cash prize of Rs 100,000 to the producers Bachaspatimayum Sunzu and Haobam Paban Kumar and Swarna Kamal and a cash prize of Rs 1,00,000 to the Director Haobam Paban Kumar.

The film is a courageous depiction of the non violent resistance of the people of Manipur to protest against a legislation which undermines the values of self respect and the fundamentals of Democracy. The documentation process by various crews and the way it is chronicled offers multiple perspectives.

The President of India Smt. Pratibha Patil said, “cinema needs to be continuously nurtured, as a part of our efforts to not only excel in making films, but also to use it as a medium to tell our stories, as well as give expression to the importance of a humane approach in life”.

“Cinema has an immense influence on thinking and on lifestyles particularly of the young generation. There is much positive energy that can be generated by using films, for conveying the message of good values to society and also eradicating harmful social evils,” she added.

Leave a Comment